Khuisiin Naiman Lake


Khuisiin Naiman Lake is located in Uyanga soum, Uvurkhangai province, 115km away from Arvaikheer. There is no concrete road that leads to the area, so it is perfect for adventurous horse riding. This area is formed by volcanic eruptions millenniums ago. As the name suggests (The Eight Lake), Khuisiin Naiman Lake consists of eight separate lakes named Shireet, Khaliut, Bugat, Khaya, Khuis, Mukhar, Duruu and Bayan-Uul and all of them are connected with each other through underwater canal. The distance between the lakes varies from 500m to 3km.

In 1995, Khuisiin Naiman Lake was announced as a nature reserve by the government. Unfortunately, as of 2007 the second biggest lake of Khuisiin Naiman Lake was shrunk by 10%, while two other lakes were dried up completely.

Do you want to be the first to receive the latest news, travel inspirations and great offers to your inbox?

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Newsletter Sign-up

Complete the form to sign-up

  • uvurkhangai
  • central-mongolia
  • hiking
  • roadtrip
  • sightseeing
  • wildlife
  • adventure
  • camping
  • fishing